“E” is for Emmy

Hey everyone! My name is Emmy, and this is my very first blog post on my blog, Finding Stastie. (In a future post I will explain the meaning behind my seemingly odd title) ~

For years, people have told me that I should write a blog: specifically, one where they could stay up-to-date on my funny stories about things that happen in my daily life once I move away from home to study at college.

Writing has always been a passion of mine as well as something that has always come easily to me. While I haven’t practiced writing for my own enjoyment since I was a kid, I’m at a place in my life where I think it’s important for me to start using writing not only as a creative outlet, but also as a way to connect with more people.

You should know…

A few months ago, I was battling the deepest depression and anxiety that I had ever experienced in my life. I was so close to giving up the fight, but something inside of me demanded that I keep trying. I eventually disclosed my dark thoughts and feelings to my mom and therapist during a family session. I’m now currently enrolled in an intensive outpatient program (IOP) that is helping me to learn healthy coping skills, as well as improve the quality of my life.

I’m doing so much better now, than I was when I first entered the program about a month and a half ago. I’m incredibly thankful to the many people who have helped me begin to climb out of the enormous hole I had dug myself into.

You can expect to read posts about: my healing process, pictures and quotes that spark inspiration/motivation within myself, D.I.Y/craft/re-purposed projects that I’m working on, fun things I’ve stumbled upon, personal goals, what I’m currently up to, and just my general life.

Through my blog, I hope to connect with positive people, and hopefully develop some solid friendships. I definitely encourage your comments and any thoughtful suggestions you all may have for me to improve myself and my blog.

I’m currently planning out (many!) more posts, and hope to publish them on a regular basis. So keep checking back! 🙂

Thank you so much for reading ~

4 thoughts on ““E” is for Emmy

What do you think?

